Death, and the Life of Social Media

Today I came upon a tweet from Ad Age that led me to an article titled “Why Twitter Makes Us Care When Minor Celebrities Die”. I was a bit offended at the lightness this title seemed to take on death, but after reading the article by David Berkowitz, I understood what he meant. Berkowitz writes about the fact that we might not remember what we said to people about Princess Di when she passed away, but that we now have a record of what we have said about those who have passed since we have been on social media, and we seem to comment on these deaths even if the celebrity is not very famous. I took a look back at my tweets around the time that Steve Jobs passed away, and this is what I found:

Something I realize more and more each time I get on one of my social media platforms is that people are obsessed with information! We have to document everything. From what we ate for dinner, to how we feel about a celebrity dying. We put ourselves out there, and by “there” I mean the internet, for everyone to see. This might not be a bad thing. Practically speaking, we have much better records of everything than any other point in history, but personally speaking, it can be frightening to see how much personal information of mine is on the internet for anyone to see.

Well now that I have gone from Ad Age to death to Steve Jobs to information to online privacy, I will make my point. Social media and the internet have allowed the entire population of the world to connect in an immediate way. Today’s example was Twitter’s ability to feed people information instantly. No matter what platform you are using, think about how you are connecting with people the next time you use social media.

Leave a Reply

