A New Kind of Economy

What do you use Facebook for? To keep up with friends, post pictures, or manage a business’ page? Facebook has many different facets, but one that I am learning more about is the world of Facebook apps. As I mentioned in my post yesterday, I am currently working on a campaign for Doritos Crash the Super Bowl. Crash began using a Facebook app for the first time this year, and has seen tremendous success because of it. Facebook apps have become an industry of their own, creating 235,644 jobs. Facebook, if it were a country, would be the third largest country in the world behind China and India. So how does this enormous platform contribute to the app industry? Well, Facebook users install 20 million apps per day, which is 2.4 times the amount of cups of coffee that Starbucks sells in one day.

While on Pinterest, an infographic caught my eye. (Yes, I am aware that I am infographic-crazy!) This graphic led me to a post on the Engine Yard blog called “The Facebook App Economy”. The article discusses the specifics of the Facebook app industry, but I will let the infographic do the talking:

Leave a Reply

