Kings and Queens

All the talk about Thanksgiving has inspired me to post about what many people focus on during this holiday: food. What is your favorite Thanksgiving food? Mine has to be my grandmother’s homemade turkey and dressing- there’s nothing like it! I dream about this dish all year long, and sometimes she even makes it for me when it’s not Thanksgiving because she knows I love it so much.

Social media has been full of posts about Thanksgiving this month, especially today since the holiday is tomorrow. I came across an infographic in an article on Mashable about the most talked about Thanksgiving foods, so let’s take a look:

 

Who knew people loved green beans so much? Well, while great food is one part of the holidays, my favorite part is getting to spend time with family, especially seeing certain family members that I often miss during other times of the year. Thinking about the things I am thankful for reminded me of the people I have met in Haiti, New York City, Knoxville, and the billions of strangers around the world who don’t have these things. They don’t have a shelter where they feel safe all the time, or more food than they could ever eat before it goes bad, or even a closet overflowing with clothes that they don’t even wear (and in case you still don’t get it, I have way too much stuff). I know that Thanksgiving and Christmas are often a time when people are more conscious of the poor, but my hope is that I can make a difference in those people’s lives no matter what time of year it is, and that I can inspire others to do the same. I have mentioned the The Bowery Mission in New York in other posts, and recently they have been posting on Facebook and Twitter about the donations they received after hurricane Sandy, as well as donations for Thanksgiving. KARM here in Knoxville has also been posting about the donations they have received for Thanksgiving. Seeing these posts makes me want to help those in need, but also reminds me that I need to do a better job of being faithful in helping the poor no matter what time of year it happens to be, because many of these people will be forgotten once the first of the year comes around. I don’t want these people to be forgotten. I want these people to be loved and cared for more than I want that homemade turkey and dressing from my grandmother on Thanksgiving. I want them to feel like kings and queens, not just for a day, but every day. I guess my point is that I am happy that Americans like to help the poor during the holiday season, but I would encourage you to think about those in need year-round! Go help those in need and watch how it changes your life. So go eat some great food, help some people out who might not be having a great holiday season, and be thankful for the things you have been blessed with!

Check this music video that is part of a project to help those in Haiti:

Leave a Reply

